1000 years later…

If you haven’t had a chance to compare these two texts please take a look below. It’s great stuff. And even if you have take a few minutes and look again. You’ll find that the Worship of David (Psalm 22) and the Worship of Christ (Mark 15:34) were the same 1000 years apart, they are the same.

As you read through these two passages. Look at the similarities. The suffering that David is writing about is prophetic. And it comes to pass 1000 years later with Jesus.

Interesting that the only words recorded of Christ on the cross in Matthew and Mark are “My God, My God, Why have you forsaken me?” These are the first words to David’s hymn that the Jewish people mocking Jesus around the cross would be familiar with.

First the crucifixion Mark 15:27-34
27 They crucified two rebels with him, one on his right and one on his left. 29 Those who passed by hurled insults at him, shaking their heads and saying, “So! You who are going to destroy the temple and build it in three days, 30 come down from the cross and save yourself!” 31 In the same way the chief priests and the teachers of the law mocked him among themselves. “He saved others,” they said, “but he can’t save himself! 32 Let this Messiah, this king of Israel, come down now from the cross, that we may see and believe.” Those crucified with him also heaped insults on him. 33 At noon, darkness came over the whole land until three in the afternoon. 34 And at three in the afternoon Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” (which means “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”).

Now Psalm 22
For the director of music. To the tune of “The Doe of the Morning.” A psalm of David. 
1 My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
   Why are you so far from saving me,
   so far from my cries of anguish?
2 My God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer,
   by night, but I find no rest.
 3 Yet you are enthroned as the Holy One;
   you are the one Israel praises.
4 In you our ancestors put their trust;
   they trusted and you delivered them.
5 To you they cried out and were saved;
   in you they trusted and were not put to shame.
 6 But I am a worm and not a man,
   scorned by everyone, despised by the people.
7 All who see me mock me;
   they hurl insults, shaking their heads.
8 “He trusts in the LORD,” they say,
   “let the LORD rescue him.
Let him deliver him,
   since he delights in him.”

16-18 16 Dogs surround me,
   a pack of villains encircles me;
   they pierce my hands and my feet.
17 All my bones are on display;
   people stare and gloat over me.
18 They divide my clothes among them
   and cast lots for my garment.

2424 For he has not despised or scorned
   the suffering of the afflicted one;
he has not hidden his face from him
   but has listened to his cry for help.

27-2827 All the ends of the earth
   will remember and turn to the LORD,
and all the families of the nations
   will bow down before him,
28 for dominion belongs to the LORD
   and he rules over the nations.

3131 They will proclaim his righteousness,
   declaring to a people yet unborn:
   He has done it!

About thoughtincarnate

I love... That's who I am That's what I do
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment